Dear Jesus: Where were you? (Part 1 of 2)

Dear Jesus,

Christmas happened this year.  The tree was up, I even managed to get the lights up on the gutters of the house.  The boys got what they wanted.  They “busted” Santa and found the true meaning of Christmas.  We saw a great Christmas pageant at church.  But then things got difficult.

Two days after Christmas, Andrew came down with a high fever and had to go to the hospital for three nights.  I stayed with him.  I’m sure you would have wanted me to do that.  I’m his daddy and that’s my place.  He had influenza.  He didn’t feel good. That was very hard to be witness to.

As if that wasn’t enough … The day Andy was discharged from the hospital I came down with the high fever and the cough.  In fact, I’m still a little bit sick, and my vacation is basically over.  I’ve spent the past several days in isolation in my bedroom to rest and keep from getting anyone else in the family sick.

Christmas is supposed to be a time where I am together with my family.  We are supposed to spend time together, be reminded what makes us a family, and focus on the love given to us through You.  I didn’t get that.  I got to sleep.  I tried to pray.  You didn’t answer.

Now my vacation time is nearing an end just as I’m starting to feel better.  What’s up with that?

Where were you this Christmas?

Cordially yours,

John

1 Response to “Dear Jesus: Where were you? (Part 1 of 2)”


  1. 1 Anonymous January 4, 2014 at 3:45 PM

    Testing your faith.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 55 other followers

Events of Interest

  • Great Plains 2015 Annual Conference June 10, 2015 – June 14, 2015 Wichita, KS, USA Annual Conference Session 2015, June 10-13, Wichita Annual Conference Session 2015 will feature Texas Conference Bishop Janice Riggle Huie and Ms. Stephanie Hixon, Executive Director of Just Peace. Preaching and teaching will focus on unity in the midst of discourse and change. The 2015 conference agenda includes voting for delegates to the 2016 General C…

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr

Turkey Campout at Naish

Saying Goodbye to Butter

Family: Four legged family members included

Matthew and his little buddy Nutmeg.

Matthew receiving his third grade Bible

Jay Bakker

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

