Heavy Arms and Faithful Friends

Raised

Photo: “Raised” by Sundornvic on Flickr

Exodus 17:10-12

So Joshua fought the Amalekites as Moses had ordered, and Moses, Aaron and Hur went to the top of the hill. As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset.

I never envy Moses.  He had the life of royalty, but gave it up to follow God on a journey that must have seemed insurmountable.  His story delivers one of the great promises of the Bible: no matter how big the task, if it is God’s calling on your heart to do it, God will give you what you need to complete it.

In the passage above, Moses’ only task was to hold up his arms.  As long as he would do this simple task, the Israelites would prevail over their enemies in battle.  Have you ever tried to hold your arms up for more than a minute or two?  It becomes tiring much faster than anticipated.

Enter the helpers: Aaron and Hur.  When Moses’ arms got tired, Aaron and Hur helped him hold them up, and continued to do so until the battle was won.

I am very blessed.  Just like Moses, I have people to help me hold up my arms when I get weary.  In my seminary journey, I sometimes find myself fatigued with reading to be done, papers to write, and balance it with a demanding day job and my family I love to spend time with.  Sometimes it is easy to question why I am on this journey, but those thoughts are very short lived.  Dawn always provides words of encouragement, as if she reads my mind and knows when I need them.  My friends and family stand at my side too, helping me keep my arms held high.

When we set out to do God’s work, we are never alone.

0 Responses to “Heavy Arms and Faithful Friends”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr


