Sabbath: to appreciate the view

Celebrating completion of a mid-term I picked up a book to read for fun at the library.  The book is Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer, his story about climbing Mount Everest.  On the very first page, something took my brain onto a tangent that I felt compelled to share.

Krakauer starts his book describing his reaction at the summit:

Straddling the top of the world, one foot in China and the other in Nepal, I cleared the ice from my oxygen mask, hunched a shoulder against the wind, and stared absently down at the vastness of Tibet.  I understood on some dim, detached level that the sweep of earth beneath my feet was a spectacular sight.  I’d been fantasizing about this moment, and the release of emotion that would accompany it, for many months.  But now that I was finally here, actually standing on the summit of Mount Everest, I just couldn’t summon the energy to care.

Have you ever done that?  … reached the summit of some major accomplishment only to not have any energy left to appreciate it?  I’ve done that.  Not Mount Everest, but there have been things I’ve looked forward to knowing just how much I would enjoy it once I got there, only to find that I didn’t save up enough energy along the way to have the celebratory “wahoo!” at the end of the race.

The sense of accomplishment is there, but the joy is gone.

One more reason to honor the Sabbath — so that when you reach the summit, whatever that summit is, there will be energy left to appreciate the view.

Without appreciating the view … why bother going to the top?

0 Responses to “Sabbath: to appreciate the view”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr


