2013: Time to make some (more) noise

I don’t usually make new years’ resolutions, but I think I am going to make one this year.

I came to the realization that I have a lot more to say than what I write in this blog.  There are two main reasons for this:

  1. Some of the things I’d like to write about and get into dialog with others about are not necessarily related to my current theme of this blog, Encountering Ministry.
  2. Sometimes I think that I need to spend more time in contemplation before I hit the “publish” button on the blog entry.  The result, however, is that sometimes the draft copy of the blog post grows stale in my mind and I end up deleting what may have been post-worthy if I would have quit striving for perfection and just let the idea flow off of the keyboard and into cyberspace.

To address #1, I think I am going to rename the blog.  I don’t know exactly what the new name will be, but I want something that is the full scope of me.  Most of the things I like to share with others revolve around topics of faith, but I also spend a lot of my mental cycles running around topics of:

  • bicycling 
  • photography
  • technology / computers / gadgets
  • music
  • car repair
  • carpentry
  • metal working
  • camping
  • astronomy
  • sociology
  • psychology
  • community formation
  • leadership

So … expect to see a bigger variety of topics.

As for item #2 on my list.  I just need to learn to let go, and let the thought fly.  I do like dialog, so I hope anyone reading who has a thought to share will (please) hit the comment button and start a conversation.  As for my perfection, I’m going to start by sending this post without so much as a cursory re-read to check for any errurs.

Happy New Year!

John

0 Responses to “2013: Time to make some (more) noise”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr


