What do you remember?

I read a devotion in the Upper Room that concluded requesting a prayer for those who have had a limb amputated.  I paused for a moment and concluded that I did not know anyone who had lost a limb.

About 30 seconds later I remembered my maternal grandmother.  I felt guilty for a moment for not having thought of her immediately, because she holds a very special place in my heart.  Why did I not think of her?  …simple… I don’t remember her as an amputee.  I remember her as a very loving person, with a beautiful smile, a firm hug, and a huge heart who loved me dearly.  That is what I remember first and foremost about her.

As I paused a little longer, there are others that came to mind, and again, it was personalities that made these people memorable, not their physical condition.

What will others remember of me?  … of you?

0 Responses to “What do you remember?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr


