The Right People at the Right Time

By all accounts today should have been a very rotten day. There was a perfect storm of several major things going all converging on this day of my calendar. After nearly over sleeping, I started my day in prayer, not asking for a miraculous resolution to my woes, but the strength to deal with it all.

The stress lifted so gently over the day it was not until the end of my work day that I looked back at the day objectively and said “that wasn’t so bad!” The day I expected to be the worst in recent memory turned out to actually be a nice day.

What made the difference?

The people. Today reminded me of how blessed I am to be surrounded in my professional, family, and academic life by people who support me up when I need it, and even when I don’t ask for it. Had it not been for the angels in my life, who probably don’t even recognize their identity as angels, this day would have been one of despair; instead, it was one filled with thanksgiving.

I started the day in prayer asking for strength to deal with insurmountable hurdles. Now I close the day in a prayer of thanks for surrounding me with his care, in the form of the caring people in my life who by a simple smile kept my heart warm and elated.

0 Responses to “The Right People at the Right Time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr


