After the Presents

Every year there are some things I can count on at Christmas Eve:

  • Excited kids
  • Reading of the Night Before Christmas
  • Reading Luke, chapter 2
  • Getting the cookies ready for Santa
  • Last minute placement of presents

Sometimes when I’m done for the evening and look at the tree, I worry that I missed the point.  Other times, I look at it, what the real meaning of the season is about, and stare in awe at the pretty lights.

One of my favorite songs to remember my humility at this time of year was originally written by Jackson Browne, titled The Rebel Jesus.  I was introduced to this song by singer/songwriter Bebo Norman as part of his Christmas album, Christmas … From the Realm of Glory.  It reminds me, at a very emotional level, what the true meaning of the Christmas season is, and Jesus’ ministry as a whole.

Sometimes I need that reminder.

Merry Christmas.

0 Responses to “After the Presents”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr


