Free Gifts

A few weeks ago, my ten year old son and I were browsing books in our church’s bookstore.  I paused to look at a recently published Study Bible.  I was fairly impressed with it, and noticed that my son, Andy, was looking at it with me.

I asked Andy if he would like this Bible.  He responded somewhat hesitantly, “yes, well… I guess so, but I’m not sure that I want to spend that much.”

I was glad that he was watching his money, but it indicated to me that he missed the intent of my question, so I tried again.  “I wasn’t asking if you wanted to buy it.  If you want it, it is my gift to you — I’ll buy it.”

“Oh, then yes.  Yes, please!”  His enthusiasm was contagious to me.

Now, the day after Christmas, I found myself reliving this exchange in my head, and finding myself in Andy’s shoes.  Humanity received a great gift at Christmas.  Some people don’t know the gift is out there.  Some think it must be bought, and worry that they can’t possibly afford it.  Some aren’t sure that they want it.

Sometimes I don’t feel worthy of it.  Sometimes I accept parts of the gift, but not wholy.  The good news is that the generous God that offers us this gift is patient, loving, and keeps the offer on the table for us all the time.

If you don’t have the gift, keep looking for it.

Once you find it, take it.  It’s free for you — the purchase has already been made.

0 Responses to “Free Gifts”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

John's pictures on Flickr


