Are You a Writer?

At a Christian writer’s conference that my wife, Dawn, attended this week, I needed to deliver something to her while she was in a group session.  Someone asked me a question that I have not been asked before, are you a writer, too?

I didn’t really know how to answer it, for some reason.  Well, am I?  While I was pondering this, Dawn answered for me: Yes he is. He goes to seminary.

Well … I guess by definition if you are a seminarian, you are a writer. I do spend a lot of time thinking and writing theologically, but my blog has suffered as a result. I learn a lot while writing for classes, but the best spiritual growth comes when I am writing for myself, either here or journaling.

As one of my professors says, sometimes you just have to sit down and start writing. I will try to do that more, and try not to over-think what I write here, and above all, try not to take myself too seriously!

Help hold me to that. If I’m too quiet, rattle my cage.

0 Responses to “Are You a Writer?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

John's pictures on Flickr

Sunset and rainbow on a stormy night

Sunset and rainbow on a stormy night

Andrew's Confirmation

Andrew's Confirmation

Andrew's Confirmation

Andrew's Confirmation

More Photos

