Taking God For Granted

I’ve written about feeling disconnected from God before. I’ve tried to avoid it before, too. I feel it again. Here is the root of it, I think: every day is spent in service to God. That is not a bad thing, in fact, it is what I claim that I want every day to be.

So – why do I feel disconnected from God so much of the time?

I examined my weekly routine and arrived at what I believe may be the answer: I do spend at least a portion of each day in service to God, but if I am honest and reflect on the average day, I do not spend that time focused on God.  

During the week I spend time learning about God and the church for my seminary classes; but I do not learn with God.

I serve my church in part by working as the audio/video technician; but I am usually concentrating on the logistics involved and not fully in an attitude of worship.

I lead group classes on various topics; but my focus is more on making sure the class gets what the individuals need, not on what I could learn in the process.  

Through all of this, I usually find that I do not have (or, more accurately, do not make) the time to spend in personal devotion or focused worship.

I think in this context, I take for granted that by doing godly activities, I will experience God’s presence. That cannot happen unless I am doing those godly activities with my eyes focused on God’s presence in and through what I do.

1 Response to “Taking God For Granted”


  1. 1 Anonymous September 15, 2015 at 7:04 PM

    To many times I feel I got caught up doing godly activities too. I can almost hear God laughing softly, then I feel His hand on my shoulder waiting for me to turn around.. again… waiting patiently for me to stop & refocus… Thank you for the gently reminder.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to Encountering Ministry and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 62 other followers

Events of Interest

No upcoming events

Status on the scale:

MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Categories

John on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

John's pictures on Flickr

Sunset and rainbow on a stormy night

Sunset and rainbow on a stormy night

Andrew's Confirmation

Andrew's Confirmation

Andrew's Confirmation

Andrew's Confirmation

More Photos

